Neda Ulaby http://kacu.org en NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://kacu.org/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:00:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 36907 at http://kacu.org Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 http://kacu.org/post/dance-music-legend-frankie-knuckles-dies-59 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPrGnh7QUDo</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 36356 at http://kacu.org Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://kacu.org/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 35118 at http://kacu.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition http://kacu.org/post/baby-didnt-bump-these-moms-out-competition Let's be clear: Olympians handle the physical challenges of childbirth differently than most of the rest of us.<p>Aretha Thurmond is a discus thrower who'd already competed in two Olympics when she went to the hospital in labor.<p>"So I get there and they're like, 'Yeah, whatever, you're 4 centimeters dilated. Go walk around the hospital and come back,' " she says.<p>Thurmond's hospital was part of a university, so she headed straight for its track, where she power-walked for the next two hours. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 00:05:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 33724 at http://kacu.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://kacu.org/post/amiri-barakas-legacy-both-offensive-and-achingly-beautiful One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:44:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 33253 at http://kacu.org Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base http://kacu.org/post/youtube-powerhouse-looks-beyond-its-gamer-base One of the most popular channels on YouTube is aimed toward people who play video games. It's got tons of content — thousands of game reviews, how-to videos of people gaming away enthusiastically, even little homemade movies that people have made using video-game software.<p>That last format is a user-generated phenomenon called machinima — "little m" machinima. "Big M" Machinima is a company, and it wants to be a new media empire. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 21:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 32675 at http://kacu.org A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters http://kacu.org/post/hollywoods-new-strategy-supporting-chinese-made-blockbusters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZb1bUKJQ0</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:55:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 31556 at http://kacu.org Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters Most Remaining Blockbusters To Close In January http://kacu.org/post/most-remaining-blockbuster-video-stores-close-january Blockbuster is going to shut all of its company-owned stores. Some franchise stores will stay open. At its peak, the video rental chain had about 9,000 stores. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 09:36:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 30858 at http://kacu.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://kacu.org/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 30403 at http://kacu.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies New Cable Channels Try To Lure Millennials Back To TV http://kacu.org/post/new-cable-channels-try-lure-millennials-back-tv Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>OK, three brand-new cable channels all share the same problem. How do you persuade 20-somethings to look up from their phones long enough to gaze at an old-fashioned, regular TV? Mon, 21 Oct 2013 09:03:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 30123 at http://kacu.org 'Trophy Wife' Is More Than Just A Pretty Face On ABC http://kacu.org/post/trophy-wife-more-just-pretty-face-abc One of the strongest new sitcoms on TV this season has the worst name, but its title, <em>Trophy Wife</em>, was intended to be ironic. The show's creators, Sarah Haskins and Emily Halpern, are self-professed feminists who wanted to take on a type generally scorned in popular culture.<p>The show's eponymous character, Kate, is a reformed party girl trying to find her place in a family that includes a much older husband, Pete, his two ex-wives and three kids. When Kate inadvertently breaks Pete's nose, the situation is expertly handled by ex No. Tue, 24 Sep 2013 23:05:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 29065 at http://kacu.org 'Trophy Wife' Is More Than Just A Pretty Face On ABC Awaiting The Apocalypse In The Quiet Town Of Concord http://kacu.org/post/awaiting-apocalypse-quiet-town-concord No place seems safe these days from someone's terrifying, post-apocalyptic imaginings. Los Angeles is wrecked in the movie <em><em>Elysium, </em></em>the South is zombie-ridden in TV's <em><em>The Walking Dead, </em></em>and now— thanks to writer Ben Winters — even the quiet streets of Concord are at risk of annihilation.<p>But it's hard to imagine anywhere <em>less</em> apocalyptic than the Corner View Restaurant in Concord, N.H. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 06:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27662 at http://kacu.org Awaiting The Apocalypse In The Quiet Town Of Concord For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging http://kacu.org/post/you-borrow-some-libraries-have-go-begging More than 90 percent of Americans say public libraries are important to their communities, according to the Pew Research Center. But the way that love translates into actual financial support varies hugely from state to state.<p>Vermont, for instance, brags that it has more libraries per capita than any other U.S. state. Some of them are remarkably quaint. In Ludlow, one library is a white clapboard Victorian, slightly frayed, ringed by lilies and sitting by the side of a brook.<p>"It's very small," says Julia Baldwin, a volunteer with the local Ladies' Aid society. Mon, 19 Aug 2013 07:07:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27508 at http://kacu.org For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging Songs Of Africa: Beautiful Music With A Violent History http://kacu.org/post/songs-africa-beautiful-music-violent-history <em>For the next year, NPR will take a musical journey across America, which is one of the most religiously diverse countries on earth. We want to discover and celebrate the many ways in which people make spiritual music — individually and collectively, inside and outside houses of worship.</em><p>The founder of the choral group Sounds of Africa is Fred Onovwerosuoke. He was born in Ghana and brought up in Nigeria, and his choir in the heart of the U.S. — St. Sat, 03 Aug 2013 06:03:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 26865 at http://kacu.org Songs Of Africa: Beautiful Music With A Violent History Girls' Legos Are A Hit, But Why Do Girls Need Special Legos? http://kacu.org/post/girls-legos-are-hit-why-do-girls-need-special-legos Two years ago, in 2011, <em>90 percent</em> of Lego's consumers were boys. A tough statistic to swallow for those of us who grew up playing with Lego's gender-neutral buckets of bricks. But the statistic came straight from Lego, which was then focused on boys with franchised sets based on properties like <em>Star Wars</em> and <em>The Avengers</em> after weathering a disastrous period in the 1990s that left the company on the brink of collapse.<p>"Construction had never worked for girls, for whatever reason," says Garrick Johnson, a toy analyst for BMO Capitol Markets. Sat, 29 Jun 2013 21:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 25390 at http://kacu.org Girls' Legos Are A Hit, But Why Do Girls Need Special Legos?