Mandalit del Barco http://kacu.org en Settlement Brings An Early End To Apple's Price-Fixing Case http://kacu.org/post/settlement-brings-early-end-apples-price-fixing-case Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Apple has reached an out-of-court settlement with dozens of states and a number of other plaintiffs over e-book price fixing. The company was facing more than $800 million in damages. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 39582 at http://kacu.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen http://kacu.org/post/ruby-dee-actress-who-marched-washington-and-screen Born Ruby Ann Wallace in the early 1920s in Cleveland, actress and civil rights activist Ruby Dee most identified with the part of New York City where she was raised.<p>"I don't know who I would be if I weren't this child from Harlem, this woman from Harlem. It's in me so deep," Dee told NPR's <em>Tell Me More</em> in 2007.<p>She died Wednesday of natural causes at her home in New Rochelle, N.Y., surrounded by her children and grandchildren. She was 91.<p>Dee, who took the surname of her first husband, blues singer Frankie Dee, grew up in Harlem's rich cultural neighborhood, writing poetry. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:43:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 39396 at http://kacu.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen Authors Angered Over Amazon's Dispute With Publisher Hachette http://kacu.org/post/authors-angered-over-amazons-dispute-publisher-hachette Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We've reached a moment that probably shouldn't surprise us when it comes to the modern publishing industry. A lot of people are addicted to buying books online using Amazon. But Amazon is now in a pricing dispute with the publisher Hachette. The online giant is refusing to accept orders for upcoming books from Hachette, which has a heavy-hitting roster of authors. NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO: Some authors are furious at Amazon.<p>NINA LADEN: They don't really care. Thu, 29 May 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 38777 at http://kacu.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents http://kacu.org/post/how-do-you-get-latino-kids-classical-music-bring-parents Outside the concert hall at Occidental College, in Los Angeles' Eagle Rock neighborhood, children are invited to test out the instruments the Santa Cecilia Orchestra will play later. Alexa Media Rodriguez, 8, says she and her family have never before been to an orchestra concert. Tue, 27 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 38716 at http://kacu.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents Sony Pictures To Lay Off Interactive Group http://kacu.org/post/sony-pictures-lay-interactive-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with Hollywood layoffs.<p>Sony has notified California's Labor Board that come June it will lay off more than 200 employees at its movie and television studios.<p>NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports this is happening in a film industry that's facing across the board cost cutting.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: Sony Pictures Entertainment will reportedly lay off its entire interactive marketing team responsible for online movie promos like this.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE PROMO)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Officials searching for answers as to wh Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 35783 at http://kacu.org Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://kacu.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 34936 at http://kacu.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam http://kacu.org/post/sunday-assembly-church-godless-picks-steam It sometimes <em>feels</em> like church in the auditorium of the Professional Musicians union in Hollywood. It's a Sunday morning, and hundreds of people are gathered to meditate, sing and listen to inspirational poetry and stories.<p>But then the live band starts up — performing songs by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 33126 at http://kacu.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen http://kacu.org/post/how-black-nativity-made-its-way-big-screen This season, Fox Searchlight has served audiences a three-course menu of movies with African-American casts and themes.<p>First, it served an appetizer in September, with the romantic comedy <em>Baggage Claim,</em> starring Paula Patton as a flight attendant looking for a husband in a hurry.<p>Then, in October, the studio set out a substantial main course with <em>12 Years A Slave</em>. The sweeping epic by director Steve McQueen is already an Academy Award shoo-in.<p>Now, <em>Black Nativity</em> is Fox Searchlight's dessert, a sweet Christmas tearjerker. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 22:55:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31977 at http://kacu.org How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://kacu.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:07:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31639 at http://kacu.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://kacu.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31594 at http://kacu.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play http://kacu.org/post/comcast-deal-puts-new-minority-run-channels-play Rapper and producer Sean "Diddy" Combs, director Robert Rodriguez, and basketball legend Magic Johnson each now has his own new cable TV networks. Their channels were part of a merger deal Comcast made with the FCC to give a shot to new networks owned by African Americans, Latinos and others.<p>Last month, Combs threw on his classic Puff Daddy alias to welcome millennial viewers to his new music network, Revolt.<p>"This is really happening, people," the rapper said at the launch. "A boy from Harlem is really standing on a stoop in Brooklyn launching a network worldwide. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 31035 at http://kacu.org Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play 1 In 7 American Adults Don't Go Online http://kacu.org/post/1-7-american-adults-dont-go-online Fifteen percent of Americans don't use the Internet, according to a survey by the Pew Research Center. Most of these "offline adults" are 65 years old or older, many live in rural areas and have incomes lower than $30,000 a year. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 09:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 29125 at http://kacu.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood http://kacu.org/post/east-la-homegirl-goes-hollywood Evangeline Ordaz is no ordinary Hollywood show runner. When she's not teaching constitutional law or rehabbing historic buildings, she's writing for a racy soap opera about <a href="http://eastloshigh.com/" target="_blank">Latino teens in East Los Angeles</a>. <em>East Los High</em> was a big summer success for the TV-on-demand website Hulu, and much of the credit for keeping the show real goes to its multitalented main writer.<p>Ordaz was born and bred in East Los Angeles — East Los, as it's known. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 22:04:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 28640 at http://kacu.org East LA Homegirl Goes Hollywood Sound Pioneer Ray Dolby Dies At 80 http://kacu.org/post/sound-poineer-ray-dolby-dies-80 Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Ray Dolby, whose inventions revolutionized the way audiences listen to entertainment, has died. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 08:39:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 28597 at http://kacu.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast http://kacu.org/post/tina-brown-leave-daily-beast Celebrity editor Tina Brown announced Wednesday that she's leaving The Daily Beast to launch her own media company. She has been a regular guest on <em>Morning Edition</em>. Brown, 59, plans to produce live forums on news topics.<p>Brown has edited some of the most prestigious publications: <em>Vanity Fair</em>, <em>The New Yorker</em> and <em>Tattler</em>. Five years ago, she helped found The Daily Beast — a news and opinion website. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 05:36:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 28536 at http://kacu.org Tina Brown To Leave The Daily Beast