NPR's Morning Edition http://kacu.org en Rosetta Spacecraft Readies For Rendezvous With Comet http://kacu.org/post/rosetta-spacecraft-readies-rendezvous-comet The Rosetta spacecraft hibernated for 31 months while its orbit took it too far away from the sun for its solar arrays to keep it operational. It's ready for a rendezvous with a comet Aug. 6. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Joe Palca 41041 at http://kacu.org Violence Flares In Libya, Leaving Main Airport In Ruins http://kacu.org/post/violence-flares-libya-leaving-main-airport-ruins Militias in Libya spent the past week battling for control of the main airport in Tripoli, leaving much of it in ruins and dozens dead. Steve Inskeep gets the latest from The Guardian's Chris Stephen. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 41031 at http://kacu.org Telecommuting Didn't Work Out For One Transplanted Worker http://kacu.org/post/telecommuting-didnt-work-out-one-transplanted-worker All summer, we're talking with out-of-work young adults about how they're making ends meet. Chrystina Gastlelum, 32, moved to Maine from New York City and tried to keep doing her job remotely. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 41040 at http://kacu.org To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them http://kacu.org/post/save-these-pigs-ky-farmer-says-we-have-eat-them Robertson County has the smallest population of any county in the state of Kentucky, and it's the only one, word has it, without a stoplight.<p>So it's an unlikely place to find a campaign to keep the food system more genetically diverse. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:52:00 +0000 editor 41003 at http://kacu.org To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them Company Says It Can Cure Your Hangover – For Up To $300 A Visit http://kacu.org/post/company-says-it-can-cure-your-hangover-300-visit Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. People waking up with a hellacious hangover often say they'd pretty much give anything to make it go away. And a new company promising to do just that is thriving in New York. For up to $300 a visit, it will send a nurse to your home armed with medicine and - this is key - an IV for instant rehydration. Given the treatment cost more than the night out at the bar, though, you might want to stick with the hair of the dog. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:36:00 +0000 editor 41001 at http://kacu.org Arkansas Razorbacks Trademark Famous Hog Call http://kacu.org/post/arkansas-razorbacks-trademark-famous-hog-call The famous hog call chanted by fans of the sports teams of the University of Arkansas Razorbacks is now a registered trademark owned by the school. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:06:00 +0000 editor 40997 at http://kacu.org Report Of Expired Meat Sparks Food Safety Scare In China http://kacu.org/post/report-expired-meat-sparks-food-safety-scare-china Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>NPR's business news begins with another food safety scare in China. It affects some American fast food restaurants in China. They've stopped using meat from a supplier in Shanghai, after reports that the supplier was selling expired beef and chicken. A local TV station alleges that workers at the Shanghai Husi Food Company, owned by the Illinois-based OSI group, repackaged stale beef and chicken with new expiration dates and the food was then sold to McDonald's, KFC and Pizza Hut. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:06:00 +0000 editor 40998 at http://kacu.org How Many Frequent Flyer Miles Can You Get With A $36M Charge? http://kacu.org/post/how-many-frequent-flyer-miles-can-you-get-36m-charge Last spring a man bought an ancient Chinese ceramic cup, sold by Sotheby's Hong Kong. The price: $36 million. But because of currency rules, he paid with his American Express card. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:06:00 +0000 editor 40999 at http://kacu.org After An Ultimatum, Christians Flee Iraqi City http://kacu.org/post/after-ultimatum-christians-flee-iraqi-city-en-masse For the first time since the first century, there are basically no Christians left in the historic Iraqi city of Mosul. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 09:27:00 +0000 Leila Fadel 40994 at http://kacu.org International Observers Work To Keep Tabs On Site Of Malaysia Jet Crash http://kacu.org/post/international-observers-work-keep-tabs-site-malaysia-jet-crash Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Secretary of State John Kerry spent a lot of time on TV yesterday, laying out what he says is extraordinary circumstantial evidence that rebels in Eastern Ukraine shot down the Malaysia Airlines jetliner. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 09:27:00 +0000 Corey Flintoff 40995 at http://kacu.org Legal Battle Looms Over Florida Congressional Districts http://kacu.org/post/legal-battle-looms-over-florida-congressional-districts With the midterm election a little more than three months away, a legal battle in Florida has cast uncertainty over the state's upcoming congressional races.<p>A state judge ruled this month that maps for two of Florida's 27 congressional districts violated the state constitution. He ordered the Legislature to redraw the maps.<p>The question now is when.<p>Like most states, Florida redrew the maps for its congressional districts after the 2010 census. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 09:27:00 +0000 Greg Allen 40996 at http://kacu.org Legal Battle Looms Over Florida Congressional Districts On Its Way To Kuala Lumpur, Plane Brought Down Over Ukraine http://kacu.org/post/its-way-kuala-lumpur-plane-brought-down-over-ukraine Many experts question the decision to fly near the fighting in Ukraine. Some airlines have circumvented the country for weeks. In March, a Malaysia Airlines plane went missing on a flight to Beijing. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 10:49:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 40908 at http://kacu.org British Parliament Member Gets Stuck In Restroom http://kacu.org/post/british-parliament-member-gets-stuck-restroom Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm David Greene. Michael Gove, a member of Britain's Parliament, might be feeling a little flushed. He got stuck in the bathroom on Wednesday, his first full day as chief whip - that's the person in charge of making sure members of his party are in place to vote the right way. Now, a colleague came to Gove's defense, pointing out that knowing who is using the toilet at any moment is part of the whip's job, so he was likely just carrying out his duties. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 10:10:00 +0000 editor 40906 at http://kacu.org Reminder: Better Pay Your Trash Bill http://kacu.org/post/reminder-better-pay-your-trash-bill Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep with a reminder to pay your trash bill. This comes courtesy of a trash hauling company in Redwing Minnesota. The company is called Paul's Industrial Garage, P-I-G, PIG. A customer did not pay for trash hauling, so a company employee dumped almost two tons of garbage on his lawn. PIG has now been fined for dumping, quote, "wet putrescible waste."<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Putrescible?<p>INSKEEP: David, I looked it up. It means liable to decay or subject to putrefaction. It's MORNING EDITION. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 09:49:00 +0000 editor 40907 at http://kacu.org When It Comes To Thinking, 2 Fish Heads Are Better Than 1 http://kacu.org/post/when-it-comes-thinking-2-fish-heads-are-better-1 Maybe we can learn from fish — they don't call a group of them a school for nothing. Researchers found that when 2 fish swim together, they make better decisions than when 2 fish are swimming alone. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 09:30:00 +0000 editor 40901 at http://kacu.org