Shankar Vedantam http://kacu.org en When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home http://kacu.org/post/when-work-becomes-haven-stress-home In the land that came up with the phrase "Thank God it's Friday," and a restaurant chain to capitalize on the sense of relief many feel as the work week ends, researchers made an unusual finding in 2012.<p>Moms who worked full time reported significantly better physical and mental health than moms who worked part time, research involving more than 2,500 mothers found. And mothers who worked part time reported better health than moms who didn't work at all.<p>Working and juggling family responsibilities can be stressful. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 07:30:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 40742 at http://kacu.org When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://kacu.org/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 40427 at http://kacu.org Safety Feature For Pedestrians Has Undesired Consequence http://kacu.org/post/safety-feature-pedestrians-has-undesired-consequence New analysis finds that the countdown clocks telling pedestrians how much time they have to cross the intersection actually increase traffic crashes. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 40151 at http://kacu.org How To Sell Green Products To The Self-Regarding Consumer http://kacu.org/post/how-sell-green-products-self-regarding-consumer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>When consumers think about green products, they often face a dilemma - that car that uses less gasoline or a more efficient refrigerator tends to cost more. Buyers have to choose whether money is more important to them than public good. Now new research shows there might be a way to boost interest in these products, at least among a core group of consumers. NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam is here to talk with us about that. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:36:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 39974 at http://kacu.org 6 Decades Of Research Examines Prisoners Of War http://kacu.org/post/6-decades-research-examines-prisoners-war Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>The Taliban's recent release of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl has prompted a firestorm of political debate. Bergdahl was captured by the Taliban after he wandered away from his unit in Afghanistan. Some have rushed to brand him a deserter and a traitor. Other,s including his friends and family, have rushed to his defense. Today we step away from that debate to look at what we've learned about the psychological effects of being captured in wartime. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 39713 at http://kacu.org What's In A Grunt — Or A Sigh, Or A Sob? Depends On Where You Hear It http://kacu.org/post/whats-grunt-or-sigh-or-sob-depends-where-you-hear-it Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR news this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Hear a laugh, you know someone's happy. Hear a sob, you know someone is sad. Or are they? It's been thought that no matter where you live in the world, people express emotions using the same repertoire of sounds. Fri, 30 May 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 38864 at http://kacu.org Mating Rituals: Why Certain Risky Behaviors Can Make You Look Hot http://kacu.org/post/mating-rituals-why-certain-risky-behaviors-can-make-you-look-hot Social science research suggests risky behavior such as braving heights or swimming in deep waters increases your sex appeal. Driving without a seat belt? Not so much. Wed, 21 May 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 38434 at http://kacu.org Why Reporting On Scientific Research May Warp Findings http://kacu.org/post/why-reporting-scientific-research-may-warp-findings Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Next we're going to report on scientific research, in particular on the way that reporting on scientific research might actually warp the findings. Scientists face pressure to publish new discoveries, which in turn might influence what they study, and that, of course, is not necessarily a good thing. There's work being published today that's part of an effort to fix this problem. Mon, 19 May 2014 10:36:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 38323 at http://kacu.org Does Diversity On Research Team Improve Quality Of Science? http://kacu.org/post/does-diversity-research-team-improve-quality-science As science becomes more diverse, scientific collaborators are growing more diverse, too. New research exploring the effect of this change suggests the diversity of the teams that produce scientific research play a big role in how successful the science turns out to be. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:09:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 35881 at http://kacu.org Military Conflict Decisions: Why Weakness Leads To Aggression http://kacu.org/post/military-conflict-decisions-why-weakness-leads-aggression Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>From Syria to Afghanistan, to Russia and Ukraine, the United States finds itself confronting some major foreign policy challenges. There are old rivalries and new one testing the limits of the United States.<p>NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam regularly joins us to talk about matters related to individual and organizational behavior, but today, he's found some new research that's relevant to the way we think about foreign conflicts and he's in our studios. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 35401 at http://kacu.org Minority Aspirants To Federal Bench Are Hindered By Underrating http://kacu.org/post/minority-aspirants-federal-bench-are-hindered-underrating Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. When a president taps someone to become a federal judge, the American Bar Association reviews and rates the nominee. That rating shapes whether the president's pick is confirmed by the Senate. Now, new analysis claims that the ABA ratings are biased. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 35022 at http://kacu.org Cash Or Credit? How Kids Pay For School Lunch Matters For Health http://kacu.org/post/cash-or-credit-how-kids-pay-school-lunch-matters-health American kids have a problem with obesity, according to the <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/obesity/childhood/">most recent studies</a>. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 08:37:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 33503 at http://kacu.org Cash Or Credit? How Kids Pay For School Lunch Matters For Health Lessons In Leadership: It's Not About You. (It's About Them) http://kacu.org/post/lessons-leadership-its-not-about-you-its-about-them Ronald Heifetz has been a professor of public leadership at Harvard's Kennedy School for three decades, teaching classes that have included aspiring business leaders and budding heads of state. Each year, he says, the students start his course thinking they'll learn the answer to one question:<p>As leaders, how can they get others to follow them?<p>Heifetz says that whole approach is wrong.<p>"The dominant view of leadership is that the leader has the vision and the rest is a sales problem," he says. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 08:20:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 30989 at http://kacu.org Lessons In Leadership: It's Not About You. (It's About Them) Why Are Kids Who Get Less Candy Happier On Halloween? http://kacu.org/post/why-are-kids-who-get-less-candy-happier-halloween What makes trick-or-treaters happy is candy. And more candy is better, right?<p>Well, it turns out that might not actually be the case. A few years ago researchers did <a href="http://www.psych.uncc.edu/pagoolka/pbr96.pdf">a study</a> on Halloween night where some trick-or-treaters were given a candy bar, and others were given the candy bar and a piece of bubble gum.<p>Now, in any rational universe, you would imagine that the kids who got the candy bar and the bubble gum would be happier than the kids who got just the candy bar. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 07:58:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 30562 at http://kacu.org Why Are Kids Who Get Less Candy Happier On Halloween? Why We Care More About Losses Than Gains http://kacu.org/post/why-we-care-more-about-losses-gains People care more about losing a dollar than gaining a dollar. This ideal, known as loss aversion, has national consequences, too, according to new research. David Greene discusses the phenomenon with NPR's Shankar Vedantam. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 09:12:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 30332 at http://kacu.org